Who wrote the books of the Bible and when?

      Book of Psalms (Hebrew Tehellim, "Songs of Praise"), a collection of five books containing spiritual poems and songs (also known as the Psalter), is composed of material written between the time of Moses (1440 B.C.) and the Babylonian captivity of Judah (586 B.C.), the primary author of which was King David (cerca 1,000 B.C.). Book I consists of psalms 1-41, Book II psalms 42-72, Book III psalms 73-89, Book IV psalms 90-106, and Book V psalms 107-150. At least 75 Psalms throughout the five books are attributed to David (Acts 4:25-26 attribute Psalm 2 to David and Hebrews 4:7 attributes Psalm 95 to David). 9 psalms throughout the second and third books were written by the sons of Korah, who were temple assistants and musicians (psalm 88 names Heman the Ezrahite as one of the sons of Korah). 12 psalms throughout the third book are attributed to Asaph (including psalm 50), a leader of the temple choir. Psalms 72 and 127 were written by King Solomon. Psalm 89 was written by Ethan the Ezrahite, possibly a Levite and son of Korah. Psalm 90 is attributed to Moses. About 50 psalms remain anonymous. The Psalms tend to lose their poetic prose with the conversion from Hebrew to English, but describe the several attributes of God, his creation, and their relationship. There are musical psalters, poems, and prophesies, all combined in a collection much like a hymn book.

        Praise the Lord (Hallelu Yah). Praise God in his sanctuary; praise him in his mighty heavens. Praise him for his acts of power; praise him for his surpassing greatness. Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet, praise him with the harp and lyre, praise him with tambourine and dancing, praise him with the strings and flute, praise him with the clash of cymbals, praise him with resounding cymbals. Let everything that has breath praise the Lord. Praise the Lord. (Psalm 150)

[ Bible | Index | Search | Links | Glossary | Copyright | E-mail | About ]